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Many State legislatures have enacted 
legislation to address infant abandonment 
and endangerment in response to reports 
of newborn infants abandoned in unsafe 
locations, such as public restrooms or trash 
receptacles. Beginning in Texas in 1999, 
"Baby Moses laws" or infant safe haven 
laws have been enacted as an incentive for 
mothers in crisis to safely relinquish their 
babies to designated locations where the 
babies are protected and provided with 
medical care until a permanent home is 
found. Safe haven laws generally allow 
the parent, or an agent of the parent, to 
remain anonymous and be shielded from 
criminal liability and prosecution for child 
endangerment, abandonment, or neglect 
in exchange for surrendering the baby to a 
safe haven.

Infant Safe Haven Laws

1

STATE STATUTES  
CURRENT THROUGH SEPTEMBER 2021

To find statute information for a particular State, go to the State Statutes Search. 

Children’s Bureau/ACYF/ACF/HHS  |  800.394.3366  | |  https://www.childwelfare.govEmail: info@childwelfare.gov

WHAT'S INSIDE

Safe haven providers

Who may leave a baby at a safe haven

Immunity from liability for providers

Responsibilities of safe haven providers

Consequences of relinquishment

Protections for parents

https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/laws-policies/state/
https://www.childwelfare.gov
mailto:info@childwelfare.gov


2Children’s Bureau/ACYF/ACF/HHS  |  800.394.3366  |  Email: info@childwelfare.gov  |  https://www.childwelfare.gov

To date, all 50 States, the District of Columbia, 
Guam, and Puerto Rico have enacted safe 
haven legislation.1 The focus of these laws is on 
protecting newborns from endangerment by 
providing parents with an alternative to criminal 
abandonment; therefore, the laws are generally 
limited to very young children. For example, 
in approximately seven States and Puerto 
Rico, only infants 72 hours old or younger may 
be relinquished to a designated safe haven.2 
Approximately 23 States and Guam accept 
infants up to 30 days old.3 Other States specify 
varying age limits in their statutes.4 

WHO MAY LEAVE A BABY AT A 
SAFE HAVEN

In most States, either parent may surrender 
his or her baby to a safe haven. In four States, 
Guam, and Puerto Rico, only the mother may 
relinquish her infant.5 Idaho specifies that only 
a custodial parent may surrender an infant. 
In the District of Columbia, an infant may be 
relinquished only by a custodial parent who is 
a resident of the District. In approximately 11 
States, an agent of the parent (someone with 
the parent's approval) may take a baby to a safe 
haven for a parent.6 In California, Kansas, and 
1 American Samoa, the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands currently do not address the issue of abandoned 
newborns in legislation.
2 The word "approximately" is used to stress the fact that States frequently amend their laws. This information is current 
only through September 2021. Alabama, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Michigan, Washington, and Wisconsin currently limit 
relinquishment to infants who are no more than 72 hours old.
3 Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New 
Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, and West Virginia
4 Other limits include 7 days (Florida, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire, North Carolina, and Oklahoma), 
10 days (Maryland), 14 days (Delaware, Tennessee, Virginia, Wyoming, and the District of Columbia), 21 days (Alaska), 45 days 
(Missouri), 60 days (Kansas, Louisiana, South Carolina, South Dakota, and Texas), 90 days (New Mexico), and 1 year (North Dakota).
5 In Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, and Tennessee, only the mother may relinquish her infant. Maryland and Minnesota do allow 
the mother to approve another person to deliver the infant on her behalf.
6 Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, New Jersey, North Dakota, Rhode Island, Utah, and Wyoming
7 Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Nebraska, New Mexico, South Carolina, and Vermont
8 Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, Idaho, Nebraska, Utah, and Virginia
9 Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, 
Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode 
Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming
10 Alaska, Arkansas, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, 
New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South 
Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Wisconsin, and Wyoming
11 Connecticut, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Minnesota, New Hampshire, Vermont, and Wisconsin
12 Arizona, Kentucky, New Hampshire, South Carolina, and Vermont

New York, if the person relinquishing the  
infant is someone other than a parent, he or  
she must have legal custody of the child.  
Eight States do not specify the person who  
may relinquish an infant.7

SAFE HAVEN PROVIDERS

The purpose of safe haven laws is to ensure that 
relinquished infants are left with persons who 
can provide the immediate care needed for their 
safety and well-being. Approximately seven 
States require parents to relinquish their infants 
only to a hospital, emergency medical services 
provider, or health-care facility.8 In 32 States, 
Guam, and Puerto Rico, fire stations also are 
designated as safe haven providers.9 Personnel 
at police stations or other law enforcement 
agencies may accept infants in 27 States and 
Puerto Rico.10 In 10 States, emergency medical 
personnel responding to 911 calls may accept an 
infant.11 In addition, five States and Puerto Rico 
allow churches to act as safe havens, but the 
relinquishing parent must first determine that 
church personnel are present at the time the 
infant is left.12
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Laws in nine States13 allow a parent to 
voluntarily deliver the infant to a newborn 
safety device. A "newborn safety device," which 
is also sometimes referred to a "newborn safety 
incubator" or "baby box," is a medical device 
used to maintain an optimal environment for 
the care of a newborn infant. A newborn safety 
device must meet these requirements:

 � It is physically located inside a safe haven 
site, which may include a hospital, law 
enforcement agency, or fire department, that 
is staffed 24 hours a day by a medical services 
provider.

 � It is located in an area that is conspicuous and 
visible to the employees of the safe haven site.

 � It must allow a child to be placed 
anonymously from outside the facility.

 � It must lock after a child is placed in it so a 
person outside the facility cannot access  
the child.

 � It must provide a controlled environment for 
the care and protection of the child.

 � It must notify a centralized location in the 
facility within 30 seconds of a child being 
placed in the device.

 � It must trigger a 911 call if staff at the facility 
do not respond within a reasonable amount 
of time after a child is placed in the device.

13  Arkansas, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Missouri, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania
14  Arizona, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan (when the infant needs medical care), 
Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, West Virginia, and Wyoming
15  Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, 
Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New 
Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South 
Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming
16  Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Nevada, Pennsylvania, and Vermont
17  Alaska, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, 
North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, 
Washington, and Wyoming
18  Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, 
Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Washington, and Wisconsin
19  California, Connecticut, Delaware, and North Dakota

RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN 
PROVIDERS

The safe haven provider is required to accept 
emergency protective custody of the infant and 
provide any immediate medical care that the 
infant may require. In 18 States, the District of 
Columbia, Guam, and Puerto Rico, when the 
safe haven receiving the baby is not a hospital, 
the baby must be transferred to a hospital as 
soon as possible.14 In 43 States,15 the District 
of Columbia, Guam, and Puerto Rico, statutes 
require the provider to notify the local child 
welfare department that an infant has been 
relinquished. In eight States16 and Guam, the 
local law enforcement agency must be notified.

In 24 States, the District of Columbia, and 
Guam, the provider is required to ask the parent 
for family and medical history information.17 
In Montana and New Mexico, the provider 
must ask about the family's Tribal affiliation. 
In 17 States, the District of Columbia, and 
Guam, the provider is required to attempt to 
give the parent or parents information about 
the legal repercussions of leaving the infant 
and information about referral services.18 In 
four States and Guam, a copy of the infant's 
numbered identification bracelet may be  
offered to the parent as an aid to linking the 
parent to the child if reunification is sought at  
a later date.19 
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IMMUNITY FROM LIABILITY FOR 
PROVIDERS

In 45 States, the District of Columbia, and 
Guam, safe haven laws protect providers who 
accept custody of relinquished infants with 
immunity from civil liability for anything that 
might happen to the infant while in their care 
unless there is evidence of major negligence 
on the part of the provider.20 In 35 States,21  
the District of Columbia, and Guam, safe 
haven laws also protect providers with 
immunity from criminal liability.

PROTECTIONS FOR PARENTS

In approximately 17 States, the District of 
Columbia, and Guam, anonymity for the 
parent or agent of the parent is expressly 
guaranteed in statute.22 In 39 States, the 
District of Columbia, Guam, and Puerto Rico, 
the safe haven provider cannot compel the 
parent or agent of the parent to provide 
identifying information.23 In addition, 17 
States and Guam provide an assurance of 
confidentiality for any information that is 
voluntarily provided by the parent.24  
20  Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana (limited 
to use of newborn safety devices), Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, 
Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, 
Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, 
Wisconsin, and Wyoming
21  Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, 
Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, 
Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and 
Wyoming
22  Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, 
Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming
23  Alaska, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, 
Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, 
North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, 
Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming
24  Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Mississippi, Montana, Rhode Island, 
South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, West Virginia, and Wisconsin
25  Alaska, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, 
Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri (for a child younger than 45 days old), Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New 
Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, 
Texas, Vermont, Washington, and Wisconsin
26  In a State with an affirmative defense provision, a parent or agent of the parent can be charged and prosecuted, but the act 
of leaving the baby safely at a safe haven can be a defense to such charges. The States with an affirmative defense provision 
include Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Indiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Utah, 
Virginia, and Wyoming.

Besides the guarantee of anonymity, most 
States provide protection from criminal 
liability for parents who safely relinquish 
their infants. Approximately 34 States, the 
District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico do not 
prosecute a parent for child abandonment 
when a baby is relinquished to a safe haven.25  
In 14 States, safe relinquishment of the infant 
is an affirmative defense in any prosecution 
of the parent or his/her agent for any crime 
against the child, such as abandonment, 
neglect, or child endangerment.26  

The privileges of anonymity and immunity are 
forfeited in most States if there is evidence of 
child abuse or neglect.

CONSEQUENCES OF 
RELINQUISHMENT

Once the safe haven provider has notified 
the local child welfare department that 
an infant has been relinquished, the 
department assumes custody of the infant 
as an abandoned child. The department is 
responsible for placing the infant, usually 
in a preadoptive home, and petitioning the 
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court for termination of the birth parents' 
parental rights. Before the baby is placed in 
a preadoptive home, 18 States, the District of 
Columbia, and Guam require the department 
to request the local law enforcement agency to 
determine whether the baby has been reported 
as a missing child.27 In addition, six States 
require the department to check the putative 
father registry before a termination of  
parental rights petition can be filed.28 In 
Montana, New Mexico, and South Dakota,  
the appropriate Tribe must be notified if  
there is reason to believe that the infant is a 
Native American child.

Approximately 21 States, the District of 
Columbia, and Guam have procedures in place 
for a parent to reclaim the infant, usually within 
a specified time period and before any petition 
to terminate parental rights has been granted.29 
Five States and the District of Columbia also 
have provisions for a nonrelinquishing parent to 
petition for custody of the child.30 In 19 States, 
the District of Columbia, Guam, and Puerto Rico, 
the act of surrendering an infant to a safe haven 
is presumed to be a relinquishment of parental 
rights to the child, and no further parental 
consent is required for the child's adoption.31

27  Arkansas, California, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New 
Jersey, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming
28  Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Utah, and Wyoming
29  California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, 
Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Wisconsin, and Wyoming
30  Iowa, Missouri, Montana, South Dakota, and Tennessee
31  Alaska, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, Rhode Island, 
South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, West Virginia, and Wisconsin
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